Visiting Sydney

As mentioned in my previous post, we had some family come and visit us late last year and took advantage of the situation and headed off to explore Sydney for the first time.

We left very early on a Monday morning. In Perth that means long lines as you book your luggage in as all the FIFO (Fly-in Fly-out) workers on the mine head back to work today. The airport was full of people in high visibility vests getting ready for their next stint on the mines. I was feeling a bit worse for wear as I managed to pick up a tummy bug the previous night. I had some serious flashbacks of India! I suspect my stomach didn’t like the cider I tried earlier the night.

The flight was relatively uneventful if not somewhat long. Luckily I had the window seat so I could look down at the beautiful patterns and landscape down below.

Photo by Michele Reid

Clouds from above

Photo by Michele Reid

Farm land with pockets of indigenous bush

Photo by Michele Reid

Patterns

Instead of writing a long post about all the things we did, I thought I’d just share some photos as our main reason for visiting Sydney was seeing family.

Photo by Stephen Reid

One of the beaches in Manly

Photo by Michele Reid

At the Manly Ferry Terminal

Photo by Stephen Reid

View from our bedroom at the B&B we were staying at. A navy ship going through The Heads.

Manly is really a nice suburb. It has great beaches and the best Thai restaurant I’ve ever been too (sadly I forgot the name of the restaurant!)

Photo by Michele Reid

Iconic Bondi Beach

Photo by Michele Reid

Kitty graffiti at Bondi Beach

Photo by Michele Reid

A cute fox sculpture – part of Sculpture by the Sea

Photo by Stephen Reid

Aptly named sculpture

Photo by Stephen Reid

Sculpture on Tamarama Beach

Photo by Stephen Reid

Ferry that goes from Manly into Sydney

Photo by Michele Reid

First proper view of the Sydney Opera House

Photo by Stephen Reid

Sydney Opera House

Photo by Michele Reid

Delicious chocolate ganache cake at La Renaissance Patisserie at The Rocks in Sydney

Photo by Michele Reid

Beautiful Sydney Harbour Bridge

Now is a good time to mention I have a slight obsession with cats (crazy cat lady!) So when I saw the following in the mall in the beautiful Queen Victoria Building, I had to take photos.

Photo by Michele Reid

Adorable cat containers

Photo by Michele Reid

More cute kitties

Photo by Michele Reid

I so want this cute tea set

Photo by Stephen Reid

Chinese Garden of Friendship in Sydney

Photo by Stephen Reid

Part of the new Wolverine film was shot here

Photo by Stephen Reid

Beautifully carved detail

It was quite a hot, muggy day when we went exploring in Sydney. We decided to have a rest at the Museum of Contemporary Art. They have a great cafe right on the top floor and it has a beautiful view of the Sydney Opera House. While we were sipping our coffee, the sun came out and shone directly on the Opera House, allowing me to take quite a nice photo (even if I say so myself!)

Photo by Michele Reid

The Sydney Opera House lit up by late afternoon sun

We met up with a varsity friend and his girlfriend for dinner. It had been a long day enjoying Starbucks (we don’t have even one branch in WA!), shopping at Zara, visiting museums and sightseeing. We took the ferry back to Manly that night and saw the Opera House all lit up. The full moon really made it all the more magical. Our visit to Sydney was brief but wonderful!

Photo by Stephen Reid

Sydney Opera House at night with the full moon

Leave a Reply

